KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Wednesday, 27 April 2011.

PRESENT: Miss S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

4. Election of Chairman for the meeting *(Item)*

(1) Mr D S Daley moved, seconded by Mrs V J Dagger that Mr R Tolputt be elected Chairman for the meeting.

Carried Unanimously

(2) Mr R Tolputt thereupon assumed the Chair.

5. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 11 February 2011 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

6. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs M Ryder to the Governing Body of Wincheap Primary School on the strength of the supporting statements from the Head Teacher and Clerk to the Governors.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mr E Lampkin to the Governing Body of Wilmington Grammar School for Boys as the available figures for the previous two years indicated that he was meeting the attendance levels set out in the guidelines.
- (3) The Panel agreed to appoint Mrs M Hanley to the Governing Body of Culverstone Green Primary School as she had not been a teacher at the School for 14 years and it was considered that sufficient time had now elapsed to fulfil the purpose of guideline (f).
- (4) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mr O Wyllie to the Governing Body of Stella Maris Catholic Primary School as he had clearly taken a very active role on its Committees and also because he had originally been appointed before guideline (h) had come into force. The Chair of Governors had also provided a strong statement of support.

- (5) The Panel agreed to appoint Mrs J Cox to the Governing Body of Ethelbert Road Primary School as it was considered that her demonstrable ability to make an effective contribution to the school overrode guidelines (c(i) and (f).
- (6) The Panel noted that there were no issues relating to the appointment of Mr S Bree and Mr J Speller to the Pool of Additional Governors.
- (7) The Panel noted that two Chairmen of Governors had erroneously been put forward in the papers as candidates for vacancies. The actual candidates were Mrs Vanessa Jones (Bredhurst CEP School) and Mrs Rachel Street (Borough Green Pprimary School). As there were no issues relating to either candidacy, both appointments were made.
- (8) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel of correspondence from the Chair of Governors of Birchington CEP School in respect of the candidacy of Lt Colonel R Latchford. The Panel decided to make the appointment because the paperwork indicated that he was well qualified to represent the Authority on the Governing Body.
- (9) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that the Chair of Governors at Meadowfield School had questioned whether a third Liberal Democrat appointment should be made to its Governing Body. The Panel confirmed the appointment of Mrs E Lowe because it was consistent with the guidelines.
 - (10) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units and the Pool of Additional Governors be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

EXEMPT ITEMS

(Open Access to Minutes)

(Members resolved under Section 100A of the Local Government Act 1972 that the public be excluded from the meeting for the following business on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of confidential information given to the County Council by a Government Department on terms which forbad its public disclosure.)

7. Appointment of Additional Governors (*Item*)

- (1) The School Governance Officer reported the circumstances which required the appointment to a School's Governing Body from the Pool of Additional Governors. The Authority had proposed the addition of Mr G Betteridge and Mrs L Smith to the Pool for this purpose.
- (2) RESOLVED that the appointments of Mr G Betteridge and Mrs L Smith to the Pool of Additional Governors be agreed.



APPENDIX (Paragraph 5 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

SchoolAppointeeAshford Oaks Community Primary SchoolMrs J CramptonEast Stour Primary SchoolMr R CookeJohn Mayne CEP SchoolMr D HorneKennington CE Junior SchoolMrs D WallerThe North SchoolMr A Johnston

2. CANTERBURY

SchoolAppointeeJoy Lane Primary SchoolMrs C GravesWestmeads Community Infant SchoolMrs J FaulknerWincheap Foundation Primary SchoolMrs M Ryder

3. DARTFORD

SchoolAppointeeWilmington Grammar School for BoysMr E Lampkin

4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeWalmer Science SchoolMrs L Chiverton

5. GRAVESHAM

SchoolAppointeeCulverstone Green Primary SchoolMrs M HanleySt Botolph's CE (VA) Primary SchoolMrs J SmithWhitehill Primary SchoolMrs E Murray

6. MAIDSTONE

School
Boughton Monchelsea PrimarySchool
Bredhurst CE Primary School
Headcorn Primary School
Marden Primary School
Staplehurst School
Swadelands School Specialist School and Sports College

Appointee
Mr I Edwards
Mrs V Jones
Mrs H Edmonds
Rev.d J Robertson
Mr R Clarke
Mr A Taylor

7. SEVENOAKS

SchoolAppointeeHever CE (VA) Primary SchoolMr N BurkeShoreham Village SchoolMr J Dinnis

8. SHEPWAY

School

Folkestone St Martin's CE Primary School Sandgate Primary School St Nicholas CE (Controlled) Primary School Stella Maris Catholic Primary School **Appointee**

Mrs B Rolfe Mr R Wallace Mr P Simmons Mr O Wylie

9. SWALE

School

Ethelbert Road Primary School Meadowfield School

Appointee

Mrs J Cox Mrs E Lowe

10. THANET

School

Birchington CE Primary School The Foreland School **Appointee**

Lt Col (retd) R Latchford Mrs T Fullick

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

Borough Green Primary School Cage Green Primary School Grange Park School Ryarsh Primary School West Malling CE (VC) Primary School Woodlands Junior School **Appointee**

Mrs R Street Mrs J Berry Mrs S Murray Mrs C Sutton Mr P Stevens Mr P Goodsall

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Bidborough CE (VC) Primary School Goudhurst and Kilndown CE Primary School Langton Green Primary School Pembury School

Appointee

Mr H Hayward Mr J McCaig Mrs F Boorman Mrs J Davies

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

14. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

Mr S Bree Mr J Speller Mr G Betteridge Mrs L Smith